• 2014 Journalism Scholarship Winners

    Congratulations to Andrew Erickson, Jennifer Parsons, Paayal Zaveri, Kaitlin Bane, Gregory Allen, Lynne Shallcross & Quinn Western the 2014 Journalism Scholarship recipients.


    The $4,000 Jerry Gillam scholarship was awarded to Andrew Erickson. A junior at UCLA, Andrew is an aspiring sports writer, he is the Daily Bruin’s lead writer for football and basketball coverage and already is a frequent contributor to Los Angeles Magazine. This summer, Andrew was offered three newspaper internships – he chose the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review.

    The $4,000 Nereida Skelton scholarship was awarded to Jennifer Parsons. Jennifer is a senior at Sac State, where she has maintained a 4.0 grade point average. Her goal is a career in broadcast journalism – and she is already on her way. When she applied for an internship at Fox40 News, they turned her down – because they wanted to hire her as a production assistant instead!

    The $4,000 KW Lee scholarship was awarded to Paayal Zaveri. A senior at UC Davis, Paayal has worked for the California Aggie and free-lanced for the Pleasanton Patch. She also interned last summer for CalWatchdog, covering the Assembly and Senate health committees. In his recommendation letter, Sacramento Bee writer Steve Magagnini wrote that she is “brimming with intelligence, compassion and dedication, combined with strong story-telling skills.”

    The $4,000 Kathleen Beasley scholarship was awarded to Kaitlin Bane. Kaitlin will soon be a graduate of Sac State and in the fall plans to attend the University of Illinois-Champagne/Urbana for a Broadcast/Digital Journalism master’s degree. While at Sac State, she has been busy interning at California Public Radio, the Sacramento County communications department and KCRA – but has not been too busy to maintain a 3.95 GPA. She has her sights set on a television career, coupled with teaching part-time at a university so she can help develop the next generation of journalists.

    The $4,000 Dan Walters scholarship was awarded to Gregory Allen. Gregory will be graduating from Sacramento State at the end of this year. While his ultimate goal is to be a news reporter for a Sacramento television station, he is also interested in print journalism – which is a good thing because Professor Molly Dugan noted in her recommendation letter for him that he has a natural gift for writing. She wrote that his writing “possesses detail, clarity and flair, a rarity among students” at his level.

    The $6,000 Jean Stephens scholarship was awarded to Lynne Shallcross. Lynne has a different back story compared to our other winners. A 2004 graduate from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, she worked for eight years for a number of magazines before determining that she needed to retool her skills as the journalism industry moved increasingly to digital formats. That required her to quit her job, uproot her family and move across the United States to attend the UC Berkeley graduate program. Since then, she has covered stories in the Capitol and in the Bay Area using print, radio and TV skills. As she wrote in her application, “Almost one year into my program at Berkeley, I’m confident I’m making an investment in my future as a journalist.”

    The $8,000 Earl Squire Behrens scholarship was awarded to Quinn Western. Quinn was the unanimous choice of our judges for this top award. A Chico State junior, she gave up a golf scholarship to dedicate herself full-time to her journalism aspirations. She has already won statewide awards at the Orion for news writing, completed an internship last summer at the Fresno, and secured an internship this summer at the Sacramento Bee. All of us see a bright future for Quinn and we are delighted to help her on her way with this scholarship.

Comments are closed.