The Sacramento Press Club launched in 1961 to bring together journalists, public relations experts, press secretaries, political consultants, legislative staff members and the public with an interest in the media and politics.

SPC began awarding scholarships to California journalism students in 1974. Many scholarship winners stay in Sacramento, working for publications such as Capital Public Radio, The Sacramento Bee, FOX40, KCRA and Capitol Weekly. Two previous scholarship winners went to work for the Chico Enterprise-Record, contributing to coverage of a deadly November 2018 wildfire that was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize.

As a non-profit educational organization, SPC is committed to informing and educating its members and the public through monthly luncheons featuring newsmakers in conversation with local journalists. Recent speakers have included Dr. Anthony Fauci, U.S. Rep. Karen Bass, First Partner Jennifer Siebel Newsom and U.S. Rep. Adam Schiff.

The SPC’s bylaws require that the organization’s president, vice president and most of its board directors be working journalists. Other board directors may be members who do not work directly for a news organization, such as public affairs practitioners and communications consultants. Half the seats on the 15-member board are open for election each year.

Photo credits
Homepage header: Max Whittaker
Past events and Donate: Rich Pedroncelli

President: Dan Morain, Cal Matters
Vice President: Alexei Koseff, San Francisco Chronicle
Secretary: Jessica Ng, Mercury Public Affairs
Treasurer/Immediate Past President: Laura Mahoney, Bloomberg BNA

Boards members at large:

Sophia Bollag, Sacramento Bee
Steve Maviglio, Forza Communications
Dennis Revell, Revell Communications
Kathleen Ronayne, The Associated Press
Joyce Terhaar, Cal Matters
Samantha Young, Kaiser Health News
Allen Young, California Department of Justice
Nick Miller, Capital Public Radio
Ashley Zavala, KRON4
Dan Smith, Visit California
Fiona Hutton, Fiona Hutton and Associates

Have questions or concerns?

Sacramento Press Club
P.O. Box 191006
Sacramento, CA 95819
(916) 234-3876